h1

Quick Fiction

February 24, 2011

Just a piece of quick fiction I wrote. I wrote this after reading some of the fiction and poetry published on thethreewisemonkeys.com. It is a short, morbid scene about acquaintance and friendship.

The Acquaintance

“It’s finished!” Reggie said and then the sarcastic triumph ran off his face.

“You hate it?” I asked and he just rolled his shoulders as if his part in this piece of art had been the strenuous one. “Well, I could just get another one-”

“No, no, no.” For a moment he gauged the large slab of flesh hanging from the hooks with a single thumb. “It’s fine. It’s just never how you imagine it. You know…?” And then he looked at me. I kept quiet. That look was his challenge for me to speak. That, “Why are you even here look?” He was always arrogant that way. He the artist. Me the hired hand. But he knew why I was here. Because he was a pussy. An artist pussy and he needed me to fetch and haul materials.

“Hey, you don’t have to tell me who’s the artist.” I said and brushed past him to the sink to wash the blood off my hands. “’Cause you’ve already told me a thousand times.”

I poured a glass of water, held it out, and smirked. He took it from me and then sat down on the beat up vinyl couch. I joined him. We admired our work for awhile and shared the water as if it were our last beer.

Blood dripped off the artwork and coagulated on the floor. I don’t know what Reggie saw. Artists are wired differently. Perhaps it was in the creation. Each knife stroke changing a body into something else. For me, well, I was lost in the moment past. The hunt. The thrill in knife-edge success and risk.

We sat a little longer after we had finished the water. Eventually he conceded that it was a good job. We knew this was both ours. Before we met, our pleasures were private, guilty ones. But together, as a team, there was satisfaction. Something close to a camaraderie. But the moment was passing. I hopped up and he helped me lift it carefully off the hooks so we could hang it in his gallery. To me the gallery was just an industrial refrigerator.

I pointed to the blood on the floor. “You want me to?” He waved the gesture away, shook my hand, and led me to the door. I left and that was it. For awhile. In the past, without Reggie, it wouldn’t have been so easy. But with such an acquaintance, perhaps even a friend, that is all we needed. For awhile.

Leave a Reply

BLU'S KITCHEN

COOKING RECIPES, ODDITIES & OTHER STUFF

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

UP!::urban po'E.Tree(s)

by po'E.T. and the colors of pi

Dimitris Melicertes

I don't write, I touch without touching.

Inside The Poet's Mind

Official Page of Poet/Author T J Therien

SAKing Photography

People, places & things.

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

Bloodwords

fiction fact fantasy. prose poetry propaganda. literature and lies by Goldbot

Model For {Change

Creating a positive change.

Immature Fruit

Poetry, Travels, Sketches, Writings and a Sip of Inspiration with Passion.

SoraNews24

Bringing you yesterday's news from Japan and Asia, today.

Contented Imperfection

exploring life and the world one day at a time

Nagoya Writes

The English-language writers group in Nagoya

Eli Glasman

Site of author Eli Glasman

kushtrimthaqi

Just another human being who's trying to reach new levels of consciousness.

Toasted Cheese

Literary Journal + Writing Community

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The Community Storyboard

Where creativity meets community

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

unaware but underlined

a corner of this mind, come celebrate with me

LittleHaven

A piece of me

Hi, I'm Awkward

A collection of random and awesomely awkward things to enjoy...

heterohailey.wordpress.com/

hot-headed teenage girl that hates ignorance.

David Emeron: Sonnets

If I swore not to describe my heart, would it stop beating forever?

Poetry, Prose, Art and Creativity

Works in progress...like me...

TheWannabeSaint.com

.....a place for sojourners on this spiritual path called life

THOUGHTS

the imaginations that changes everything

GYA today

Give Yourself Away

Art Bytes

Exhibition reviews and Artist Interviews by Kim A. J. Goldsmith

Virginia the Viruliferous

highly contagious and yet so entertaining

The RunningFather Blog

-• ö.tH(ink)Mÿstiç •-

Black and Write

Poetry With A Touch Of Panache

Bastet and Sekhmet's Library

Stories, poems and thoughts about things I find interesting!

HA's Place

musings of a self-proclaimed weirdo

~Idiot Writing~

'all our lives are a poetry - awake our souls.' ~ Battling the hypocrite within ~

Outlook in Life

... and it is ever changing

A Mirror Obscura,

Poetry, musings and sightings from where the country changes

wePoets Show It

an interactive community that showcases art in all forms

A 19 Planets Art Blog 2010/2017

Art Journey—these works along the way. . . .

Poesy plus Polemics

Words of Wonder, Worry and Whimsy

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

T J Therien

The official page of T J Therien

