h1

The Time Traveller

March 22, 2011

In yesterday’s post I publish a few paragraphs of a story I started that I have named, “The Time Traveller”. I explained about this story in my previous post, so you can just read that for explanation. I think it will be fun, though, to publish the story as I write it. Whether it is a paragraph one day or a page the next, it will be nice to see how the story soars or sinks. Enjoy.

 

The Time Traveller

“I am a time traveller. That is what I think I am. What I guess I am, I mean.” I said it out loud. To no one. Then I lifted the giant sword and hacked again at the lantana. “Hack! Hack! Hack!” I said with each stroke and the spiky brambles fell away under the weight of the steel, filling the air with a spicy mint odour.

I don’t know why my father had a sword. It had been popular to have Japanese swords. It will be popular, I mean. Or, it would be popular. I don’t know how to express it. At school they never teach us that. Or taught us that. Anyway, I never knew then and I don’t know now how to explain what has happened and is happening to me. What you should know is that as I write this it is the year 1999 and I am in school. I am also 16 and I am either a time traveller or I’m going mad. This is what this journal is for.

I looked at the sword again and wondered why, if Japanese swords were popular, my father had something that resembled a claymore. I shrugged and looked at my handiwork, satisfied with the carnage, even though the weed would grow back in a week or two. Then I could do it again. One more time. I expect most people believe that if they could live their lives again they would improve on it, fix their mistakes, and be some sort of wonder-person. Have I, standing in the bush outside my backyard and hacking at shrubs with a fake sword disproved that?

“A moment of clarity.” I said it out aloud and looked around at the gum trees. “I never used the word clarity before. That must prove it mustn’t it?” I said it to the leaves and branches as my mind scrambled for thoughts. They were there. The memories. “I never used the word ‘clarity’ before, but I did later, so that must prove that I have come back.” I clenched my eyes closed so I could think. Something was coming and then I remembered the diary.

 

AJG

Leave a Reply

BLU'S KITCHEN

COOKING RECIPES, ODDITIES & OTHER STUFF

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

UP!::urban po'E.Tree(s)

by po'E.T. and the colors of pi

Dimitris Melicertes

I don't write, I touch without touching.

Inside The Poet's Mind

Official Page of Poet/Author T J Therien

SAKing Photography

People, places & things.

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

Bloodwords

fiction fact fantasy. prose poetry propaganda. literature and lies by Goldbot

Model For {Change

Creating a positive change.

Immature Fruit

Poetry, Travels, Sketches, Writings and a Sip of Inspiration with Passion.

SoraNews24

Bringing you yesterday's news from Japan and Asia, today.

Contented Imperfection

exploring life and the world one day at a time

Nagoya Writes

The English-language writers group in Nagoya

Eli Glasman

Site of author Eli Glasman

kushtrimthaqi

Just another human being who's trying to reach new levels of consciousness.

Toasted Cheese

Literary Journal + Writing Community

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The Community Storyboard

Where creativity meets community

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

unaware but underlined

a corner of this mind, come celebrate with me

LittleHaven

A piece of me

Hi, I'm Awkward

A collection of random and awesomely awkward things to enjoy...

heterohailey.wordpress.com/

hot-headed teenage girl that hates ignorance.

David Emeron: Sonnets

If I swore not to describe my heart, would it stop beating forever?

Poetry, Prose, Art and Creativity

Works in progress...like me...

TheWannabeSaint.com

.....a place for sojourners on this spiritual path called life

THOUGHTS

the imaginations that changes everything

GYA today

Give Yourself Away

Art Bytes

Exhibition reviews and Artist Interviews by Kim A. J. Goldsmith

Virginia the Viruliferous

highly contagious and yet so entertaining

The RunningFather Blog

-• ö.tH(ink)Mÿstiç •-

Black and Write

Poetry With A Touch Of Panache

Bastet and Sekhmet's Library

Stories, poems and thoughts about things I find interesting!

HA's Place

musings of a self-proclaimed weirdo

~Idiot Writing~

'all our lives are a poetry - awake our souls.' ~ Battling the hypocrite within ~

Outlook in Life

... and it is ever changing

A Mirror Obscura,

Poetry, musings and sightings from where the country changes

wePoets Show It

an interactive community that showcases art in all forms

A 19 Planets Art Blog 2010/2017

Art Journey—these works along the way. . . .

Poesy plus Polemics

Words of Wonder, Worry and Whimsy

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

T J Therien

The official page of T J Therien

