h1

Ideas really are dangerous…

June 26, 2013

Just below this post is a first sketch of a poem. It is not really a poem, it is just a mass of thoughts purged onto the digital paper so far, but I like putting in first sketches as when you get to the finish you can look back and see what u were first thinking or trying to think and how you have managed to articulate it all into something more coherent or purposeful.

I don’t usually like to explain my writing. It should explain itself or express something from within the reader from without. A connection. But, I think I have more to say here. Perhaps more for myself than for anyone reading this. I’ve just recently moved out to Thailand and have finished my Masters and as we do in life as we take one more step down the stairs of life into the darkness of the possibilities of the future, we dip our little toes down and we feel for where the next invisible step is. And how we make these steps are influenced by our ideas…and as I said, ideas really are dangerous.

We think we create them and own them, but they came from somewhere, just like the spark at the start of the universe, and their life is beyond our knowing. They are entities in themselves and they occupy us and like any life they are selfish in their need to propagate. If we don’t consider what they are and their forces behind our actions, then we start acting beyond our needs and do things for the idea alone, becoming mules for their carts.

Ideas brainwash me all the time. Funny thoughts or notions can occupy my mind, but I can quickly dismiss them, usually by another silly idea. But some endure and the longer they endure, the harder they are to shift out from your consciousness. You have been fulfilling them for so long that you and this idea have formed a symbiosis. The idea cannot live without you enforcing it and you cannot be happy without fulfilling the morals, ideals, rules, path, etc. of this idea.

To stop speaking in grandiose vague terms, perhaps I will use myself as an example. As a child I wanted to be an historian or a scientist or a basketball player or a drummer. In the end and for different reasons, the historian idea had more fertile ground to grow and won over the others. In university this evolved into being a writer/poet. In chasing/supporting this idea, one of being a teacher came up, and this is where I am today through many exciting and frightful escapades.I still have all of these ideas inside of me, and myriads of others in a complex ideological ecosystem fighting for dominance over one another, as do we all.

And now finishing another step in my Master course…I am left at the edge of another precipice, questioning the motivation for any of it. I do not feel I have made wrong decisions, but that right now, in a million different mes I could be anyone doing anything. And that perhaps is my point. Ideas are dangerous. Do not believe in them, do not become their tool, but use them as your tool. Take a step back from the precipice and evaluate your next step. Evaluate the steps you have taken and do things for yourself. For ideas have a life of their own and ideas really are dangerous.

Leave a Reply

© ONYECHE VINZ POETRY

© TALKING TO MYSELF THROUGH POETRY

BLU'S KITCHEN

COOKING RECIPES, ODDITIES & OTHER STUFF

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

UP!::urban po'E.Tree(s)

by po'E.T. and the colors of pi

Dimitris Melicertes

I don't write, I touch without touching.

Inside The Poet's Mind

Official Page of Poet/Author T J Therien

SAKing Photography

People, places & things.

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

Bloodwords

fiction fact fantasy. prose poetry propaganda. literature and lies by Goldbot

Model For {Change

Creating a positive change.

Immature Fruit

Poetry, Travels, Sketches, Writings and a Sip of Inspiration with Passion.

SoraNews24

Bringing you yesterday's news from Japan and Asia, today.

Contented Imperfection

exploring life and the world one day at a time

Nagoya Writes

The English-language writers group in Nagoya

Eli Glasman

Site of author Eli Glasman

kushtrimthaqi

Just another human being who's trying to reach new levels of consciousness.

Toasted Cheese

Literary Journal + Writing Community

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The Community Storyboard

Where creativity meets community

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

unaware but underlined

a corner of this mind, come celebrate with me

LittleHaven

A piece of me

Hi, I'm Awkward

A collection of random and awesomely awkward things to enjoy...

heterohailey.wordpress.com/

hot-headed teenage girl that hates ignorance.

David Emeron: Sonnets

If I swore not to describe my heart, would it stop beating forever?

TheWannabeSaint.com

.....a place for sojourners on this spiritual path called life

THOUGHTS

the imaginations that changes everything

GYA today

Give Yourself Away

Art Bytes

Exhibition reviews and Artist Interviews by Kim A. J. Goldsmith

Virginia the Viruliferous

highly contagious and yet so entertaining

The RunningFather Blog

-• ö.tH(ink)Mÿstiç •-

Black and Write

Poetry With A Touch Of Panache

HA's Place

musings of a self-proclaimed weirdo

~Idiot Writing~

'all our lives are a poetry - awake our souls.' ~ Battling the hypocrite within ~

Outlook in Life

... and it is ever changing

A Mirror Obscura,

Poetry, musings and sightings from where the country changes

wePoets Show It

an interactive community that showcases art in all forms

A 19 Planets Art Blog 2010/2017

Art Journey—these works along the way. . . .

Poesy plus Polemics

Words of Wonder, Worry and Whimsy

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

T J Therien

The official page of T J Therien

