h1

On holding back…a question to and conversation with the void…

August 13, 2013

I have often said that I want my writing to be as honest as possible. But what does this mean for me? And what does it mean for you?

Does it mean by having all your writing about actual events in your life? By laying out all your flaws, faults and mistakes onto the internet? It may for some as honesty may mean many things to many people. For anyone’s better or worse, I have often done this…

How about letting your true voice and feelings be put down on the page and affect your writing? By not copying anyone else’s, but by being inspired by theirs? I hope I always do this…

By not phoning in the emotion that is not truly there? By talking about things that we know little about or have never experienced? By posting something to be popular, sensational, and make us feel good without being authentic? I have sometimes done this, too, unconsciously and regrettably, consciously!

Those are all some points that are true for me. I am guilty of many of them. Writing something and then realising after much effort…what are you even talking about?! How about yourselves?

So…we can be honest and true in our writing. But, what should we hold back? Are there some things that we should not say, even if we mean them? Confessing love, a crime, dishonesty, disloyalty? Is the truth not better out, because, as Shakespeare wrote ‘Truth will out!’ anyway?

Well, perhaps somethings should be kept with those it concerns.

But when it comes to our art…to something so close to us…representing who we are as much as we can express it as humans…well, it’s personal isn’t it?

And sometimes you feel the shame or embarrassment. Once you post a piece of writing, a picture, a painting, -whatever; and then you look back and think; why did I do that? People will think I’m stupid, look stupid, acting stupid? Well, who has not. For me it has been a daily exercise for most of my life, retracing my ridiculousness, and trying to figure it all out. At first, perhaps, regretting things, and then handling it. Owning it. And it is hard to be ourselves. And it takes practice. Practice practice practice in not stopping doing these things, but in acknowledging them and owning them. You can’t change who you are and if you want to make a stupid post of any kind, fill your Facebook and Instagram with silly photos (mine are) I won’t judge. As a matter of fact, I will empathize and understand.

This is just a post about honesty and holding back; a question into the void and a conversation with it.

Any thoughts?

 

AJG

 

5 comments

  1. Thank you for following my blog, I found your an enjoyable read. AJM


    • I liked your style, too! Any opinion on how honesty relates to your art? If you don’t have one, don’t lie to me! 😉


      • “Honesty in my art”…I believe that truth is a feeling. The creation of art or poetry is an act of individualism. Whether “honesty” or “art” we must live within the intricacies of one’s self. Ann


  2. Honesty is overrated. All that matters to me is whether something is good or not. Sometimes when an artist sells out you can tell by how the piece is handled. Otherwise it’s not something that has really concerned me. This might be because I always write things that interest me. Usually they are things that don’t really interest others but I like writing about them anyway.

    When it comes to creative writing, I think writers should be encouraged to be individualistic and I don’t mean deliberately making your style stand out by writing in binary. This also means not censoring one’s self even if there is a fear of ridicule. I’m tired of reading poems and literature that thump the same messages that is heavily agreed upon. Not that I disagree with such messages but wouldn’t it be interesting to read something that wouldn’t be considered politically-correct even if you don’t necessarily agree with its sentiment?


    • Thanks for your feedback on my work and your thought out reply, too! It was very honest, hehe. But, seriously, I do see a lot of honesty with yourself. You have an opinion and you state it well, and your writing, too, you choose topics that interest you and are different not for the sake of it, but for your interest in that topic.



Leave a Reply

© ONYECHE VINZ POETRY

© TALKING TO MYSELF THROUGH POETRY

BLU'S KITCHEN

COOKING RECIPES, ODDITIES & OTHER STUFF

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

UP!::urban po'E.Tree(s)

by po'E.T. and the colors of pi

Dimitris Melicertes

I don't write, I touch without touching.

Inside The Poet's Mind

Official Page of Poet/Author T J Therien

SAKing Photography

People, places & things.

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

Bloodwords

fiction fact fantasy. prose poetry propaganda. literature and lies by Goldbot

Model For {Change

Creating a positive change.

Immature Fruit

Poetry, Travels, Sketches, Writings and a Sip of Inspiration with Passion.

SoraNews24

Bringing you yesterday's news from Japan and Asia, today.

Contented Imperfection

exploring life and the world one day at a time

Nagoya Writes

The English-language writers group in Nagoya

Eli Glasman

Site of author Eli Glasman

kushtrimthaqi

Just another human being who's trying to reach new levels of consciousness.

Toasted Cheese

Literary Journal + Writing Community

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The Community Storyboard

Where creativity meets community

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

unaware but underlined

a corner of this mind, come celebrate with me

LittleHaven

A piece of me

Hi, I'm Awkward

A collection of random and awesomely awkward things to enjoy...

heterohailey.wordpress.com/

hot-headed teenage girl that hates ignorance.

David Emeron: Sonnets

If I swore not to describe my heart, would it stop beating forever?

TheWannabeSaint.com

.....a place for sojourners on this spiritual path called life

THOUGHTS

the imaginations that changes everything

GYA today

Give Yourself Away

Art Bytes

Exhibition reviews and Artist Interviews by Kim A. J. Goldsmith

Virginia the Viruliferous

highly contagious and yet so entertaining

The RunningFather Blog

-• ö.tH(ink)Mÿstiç •-

Black and Write

Poetry With A Touch Of Panache

HA's Place

musings of a self-proclaimed weirdo

~Idiot Writing~

'all our lives are a poetry - awake our souls.' ~ Battling the hypocrite within ~

Outlook in Life

... and it is ever changing

A Mirror Obscura,

Poetry, musings and sightings from where the country changes

wePoets Show It

an interactive community that showcases art in all forms

A 19 Planets Art Blog 2010/2017

Art Journey—these works along the way. . . .

Poesy plus Polemics

Words of Wonder, Worry and Whimsy

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

T J Therien

The official page of T J Therien

