h1

The Fantasy of Michael Moorcock and Music for Inspiration…

August 23, 2013

Inspiration can come from anywhere. From a movie, from something your friend says, from a cereal box, from a bad smell…anywhere! I get a good deal of inspiration from my music. Just listening to it can put you into a good mood.

So here is a little post about:

1. The variety of metal music out there.

2. The great fantasy writer, Michael Moorcock

3. Some music suggestions for metal music for inspiration.

 

1.

I am a very big fan of music ranging from electronic, indie-country, hip-hop, folk, to my most favourite…metal. Yes, a great polarizing force of music. I listen to most genres of metal  including death, melodic -death, psychedelic, post-metal, power, punk, folk, progressive, oriental, modern, djent, stoner, shoe-gaze, sludge, even some doom, gothic and black. Yep, just put metal after all these and you have a genre. And these are more.

It’s what I listen to when I write as it is a good way to listen to a new album and gives me energy, inspiration, puts me in a good mood and just makes me smile, god darn it!

2.

I was just reading some fantasy on my Kindle, some on WordPress from baldypoems (check him out!), and thinking about my own novel. It brought me thinking about inspiration. Even as I try to map my thoughts about it, it is a muddle of threads. I was thinking about the writing of Michael Moorcock, a great British fantasy writer famous, among others, for his anti-hero Elric of Melnibone. I love his writing. He can cross seamlessly over centuries in just a few pages. Explain passages of action with such clarity and such brevity that you are left thinking, “Wow, he said all that in 2 paragraphs! Now that is communication!”

The only reason I found out about him was from the power metal band, Blind Guardian from one of their songs called ‘Tanelorn (Into the Void)’. I like the song and was thinking…Tanelorn…sounds like a fantastical kingdom. And yes, it turned out to be a fantastical kingdom from Moorcock. So from this random song, I started reading Moorcock and it has give me some of the great fantasy reads I’ve had.

Does anyone else have any strange links to things they have read or inspiration for writing?

3.

Also, here are just a couple of recommendations for metal to listen to if you want inspiration for SciFi, Fantasy, or horror:

For Science Fiction –

1. Hammerforce. Power-metal band from Russia. Their latest album “Access Denied” is great.

2. Vektor. American Space-thrash. Both of their albums, ‘Black Future’ and ‘Outer Isolation’ slay. A trip into the black regions of space; twisted, fast, n thrashy.

Fantasy:

1. Blind Guardian. German power metal.

2. Amon Amarth. Swedish legends of viking metal. Any album will get you ready for war. haha. awesome. Youtube ‘Live for the Kill’.

3. Khors. Ukranian progressive melodic black metal. A bit heavier, but has some nice parts.

Horror:

Have to say my boys at The Black Dahlia Murder. Detroit death metal. Any album really, but ‘Nocturnal’ is like going back to F.W. Murnau’s 1922 Nosferatu. If you can’t stomach the music (tear drops) then watch the movie…wow.

5 comments

  1. thanks for this, I love metal music and fantasy fiction (have you tried listening to middle earth radio? they do a mixture of classical and metal designed to be heard whilst reading or writing fantasy). Michael moorcok was associated with a couple of other bands, i am sure of it (possibly pink floyd and hawkwind but don’t quote me as it is ages since i saw the documentary). I recently walked up the malvern hills in tolkien and c.s. lewis’ footsteps, sadly – the unicorn (pub) where they drank when on their travels together (read up on the inklings, facinating stuff) was closed but I got my son to take a picture of me outside it coz i’m a geek. big fan of raymond e feist, david eddings, most TSR stuff (now wizards of the coast) like dragonlance, forgotten realms etc. metal band, Halloween do horror style metal, i’ll have to take a look at my collection and see what i can find! good post 🙂


    • Thanks! That trip sounds amazing. I love travelling with a purpose in mind like that and the English countryside is so green and pleasant. I was born in Cambridge and went back there a few years ago and did a little tramping around. I saw a good documentary called ‘The Narnia Code’ about deciphering Louis’s themes. Really interesting!
      I will check out Middle Earth Radio today. There are so many good bands out there. I spend a lot of time just scouring review sites to find little gems, because I KNOW that I’ll find a little obscure band that’ll be amazing. Folk-metal is nice; fiddles, accordions, and lyres give a ‘days of yore’ feel. Dalriada from Hungary (I think they were in Eurovision this year) and Eluveitie from Swiss are decent. A Tunisian band “Myrath” mix Arabic singing and melodies and Chthonic are Taiwanese melodic-death with traditional instruments. Anyway…deserves another post sometime… Cheers again.
      Liking your mythology. Very intricate and interesting! I liked the eating of the Godflesh element. Made me feel uneasy. I like creating folk-lore stories and adding little idiomatic nuances to different area. Sometimes I find it hard to manage a balance between explaining the world and pushing the story forward, though!


  2. Omg SOMEONE who’s heard of Elric!! I DO wish we could see that in a live action flick!

    And I write to music ALL the time – from using soundtracks from movies or even games, I have a playlist for just about every scene I can think of. Apocalyptica sets the tone for anything tbh. But quite often a song will just set the scene in motion upon first hearing.


    • Elric is such a good character! The Albino Wolf! Really good anti-hero. I love his on-and-off travel companion Moonglum who just shows up sometimes. I listen to a lot of orchestral music, too, which is a little less intrusive. Czech composer Dvorak has some nice pieces and also Gustav Holst’s ‘Planets’ which inspired a lot of the Star Wars music. I will have to check out some movie soundtracks…I have never really thought of that…


      • I have Planets and YES! DVORAK!!

        Orff to FYI.

        The Pacific Rim soundtrack is just WOW, I also liked Hawkmoon from the Elric series 🙂



Leave a Reply

BLU'S KITCHEN

COOKING RECIPES, ODDITIES & OTHER STUFF

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

UP!::urban po'E.Tree(s)

by po'E.T. and the colors of pi

Dimitris Melicertes

I don't write, I touch without touching.

Inside The Poet's Mind

Official Page of Poet/Author T J Therien

SAKing Photography

People, places & things.

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

Bloodwords

fiction fact fantasy. prose poetry propaganda. literature and lies by Goldbot

Model For {Change

Creating a positive change.

Immature Fruit

Poetry, Travels, Sketches, Writings and a Sip of Inspiration with Passion.

SoraNews24

Bringing you yesterday's news from Japan and Asia, today.

Contented Imperfection

exploring life and the world one day at a time

Nagoya Writes

The English-language writers group in Nagoya

Eli Glasman

Site of author Eli Glasman

kushtrimthaqi

Just another human being who's trying to reach new levels of consciousness.

Toasted Cheese

Literary Journal + Writing Community

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The Community Storyboard

Where creativity meets community

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

unaware but underlined

a corner of this mind, come celebrate with me

LittleHaven

A piece of me

Hi, I'm Awkward

A collection of random and awesomely awkward things to enjoy...

heterohailey.wordpress.com/

hot-headed teenage girl that hates ignorance.

David Emeron: Sonnets

If I swore not to describe my heart, would it stop beating forever?

Poetry, Prose, Art and Creativity

Works in progress...like me...

TheWannabeSaint.com

.....a place for sojourners on this spiritual path called life

THOUGHTS

the imaginations that changes everything

GYA today

Give Yourself Away

Art Bytes

Exhibition reviews and Artist Interviews by Kim A. J. Goldsmith

Virginia the Viruliferous

highly contagious and yet so entertaining

The RunningFather Blog

-• ö.tH(ink)Mÿstiç •-

Black and Write

Poetry With A Touch Of Panache

Bastet and Sekhmet's Library

Stories, poems and thoughts about things I find interesting!

HA's Place

musings of a self-proclaimed weirdo

~Idiot Writing~

'all our lives are a poetry - awake our souls.' ~ Battling the hypocrite within ~

Outlook in Life

... and it is ever changing

A Mirror Obscura,

Poetry, musings and sightings from where the country changes

wePoets Show It

an interactive community that showcases art in all forms

A 19 Planets Art Blog 2010/2017

Art Journey—these works along the way. . . .

Poesy plus Polemics

Words of Wonder, Worry and Whimsy

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

T J Therien

The official page of T J Therien

